Legal requirements to become a trimmer or budtender in California . Anyone working in the cannabis industry in California needs to be 21 years of age or older, as is required by California law. Those with felonies related to cannabis will likely still be able to get hired by a cannabis company.
You must be 18 years of age or older in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card for yourself, or 21 years old or older if you intend to apply as a caregiver.
If you’re interested in becoming a budtender, the following steps should help improve your chances of getting hired by a dispensary : Step 1: Know the Products. Step 2: Stay on Top of New Trends. Step 3: Become a Great Short Storyteller. Step 4: Be Careful When Choosing Budtender Certification Programs For Now.
Do You Have to be 21 to be a Budtender ? Currently, there’s no industrywide certification program for budtenders . Minimum age requirements in local areas range from 18 to 21 years old. There are a number of certification courses and certifications available online, but the quality of these programs varies.
If you’re interested in becoming a budtender , the following steps should help improve your chances of getting hired by a dispensary: Step 1: Know the Products. Step 2: Stay on Top of New Trends. Step 3: Become a Great Short Storyteller. Step 4: Be Careful When Choosing Budtender Certification Programs For Now.
People aged 16–25, including students If you are aged 16–25 and dependent on a parent or guardian, you are eligible for a medical card if your parent or guardian has a medical card . (This does not apply if their income is above the means test limit and they have a discretionary medical card .)
Smoking in a Parked Car May Still Cause Legal Trouble While you can smoke or consume marijuana recreationally, California law does not allow you to drive if you have smoked or consumed it recently enough to be impaired. One sign an officer may look for is an individual smoking in a car , even if it is parked .
Do I still need a California medical marijuana identification card (MMIC) in 2020 ? No, because of Proposition 215, you don’t need a state-issued MMIC to enjoy the benefits that come with being a medical cannabis patient in 2020 .
“There are currently no rules that specifically govern whether or not dispensary employees may be allowed to use cannabis on- or off-duty, and the employee cannabis use policy is generally up to the discretion of the shop owners and managers.
It’s far easier to land a position at a dispensary that just opened or is opening in the near future, but it’s not impossible to get a job at a dispensary that has been open for a while!
Another way many cannabis businesses pay their employees is by paying them as a 1099 employee , or a more common term you might know, “under-the-table.” Paying employees this way does not pull any state or federal taxes from their paycheck, which creates a whole other problem for these business owners.
How old do you have to be to work at a dispensary in California ? The minimum age you need to be to work in a cannabis dispensary in California is 21 years of age.
An entry-level Budtender with less than 1 year experience can expect to earn an average total compensation (includes tips, bonus, and overtime pay) of $12.82 based on 13 salaries. An early career Budtender with 1-4 years of experience earns an average total compensation of $13.34 based on 90 salaries.
In November of 2016, California voters passed Proposition 64. Prop 64 which legalized the use of recreational marijuana for people over 21 in California as of January 1, 2018.