So here is what the Colorado State Patrol suggests: “Airbag and vehicle manufactures recommend that all passengers in front seats be at least 13 years old, weigh at least 100 pounds, are tall enough to fit into the lap and shoulder belt and are mature enough to remain in their seating position — out of the airbag
The Virginia law declares that children over the age of 8 can ride in the front seat. On the other side, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s advice is that children usually are ready for the front seat around the age of twelve.
At what age can a child sit in the front seat ? Colorado law stipulates that children younger than 1 year and lighter than 20 pounds must ride in the back seat ; however, the safest practice is to keep children in the back seat until they turn 13.
Ages 2 to 8 (or older) This car seat protects against forward movement should a crash occur. The seat should have the weight and height limits listed. Usually, the maximum weight limit is between 40 and 65 pounds.
4 feet, 9 inches
Children under 3 must be in a child car seat . If there’s no room for a third child car seat in the back of the vehicle, the child must travel in the front seat with the correct child car seat . Children aged 3 or older can sit in the back using an adult belt.
According to California law, the 11- year – old can ride in the front seat . However, the back seat is the safest place for all children, so place them all in the back. The 11- year – old needs the lap and shoulder belt.
Do not place children in the front seat . The safest place is in the rear seat properly buckled. However, children between 6 and 8 years of age (approximately 40 to 80 pounds) are safest when seated in booster seats with a shoulder/lap safety belt over them.
According to law, your child can sit in the front seat after they are 8 years old , given, they are using a seat belt. Virginia law also says you can ‘t put a rear-facing car seat in the front . If the car has no back seat or it is unavailable, you have to deactivate the airbags.
Infants in rear-facing car safety seats should not be placed in front passenger seats when an airbag is present and activated. If no appropriate rear seating position is available, only place the infant in the front passenger seat if an airbag on/off switch is installed and turned off.
In Colorado , there is no law that prevents adults from riding in the back of a pickup truck , provided they are sitting in the cargo area only. Adults are not allowed to ride on the top, hood, or fender of any other portion of a vehicle. If they’re caught doing so, they can face a fine – however no points are assessed.