Child support is a percentage (roughly 20% for 1 child, and an additional 10% for each additional child) of the combined gross income of the parents , which is then split between both parents , depending on other factors.
14-10-115(7)(a)(II)(D) provides for a minimum support obligation applies unless both parents have at least 93 overnights. The monthly obligation is: $50 for 1 child. $70 for 2 children.
If you already have a child support order, you can find information about your specific case online – sign up at www.michigan.gov/michildsupport. If you need additional information, the following resources may help. Friend of the Court Interactive Voice Response System, 1-877-543-2660.
In 1997, the Colorado Assembly changed the child support statute so now support ends automatically , without the need for a court order, but only when the last or only child turns 19 .
Colorado does not have joint custody or sole custody. Colorado uses the term parental responsibility – which can either be joint or primary. If you equally share in overnight visitation with the minor child, you have joint parental responsibility.
In general, a parent may be considered unfit if they are not able to fulfill the child’s needs or have endangered the child’s physical or emotional well-being. Physical or sexual abuse towards the child. The parent’s neglect of the child. The parent’s history of violence or sexual assault, if any.
Can child support take my whole paycheck ? According to federal law, a maximum of 65% of your remaining paycheck can be withheld for past due child support . This is a huge amount of money to possibly be withheld. Luckily, some states have lower withholding percentages than the federal maximum.
Colorado courts do not allow parents to waive child support obligations, even if they both agree payment from one parent to the other based on their unique circumstances makes this their preference. Any retroactive payments of child support are still owed.
Colorado is one of the most favorable states for fathers going through a divorce or in a child custody dispute. There is no Colorado law that makes equal parenting time the default. However, according to the study most Colorado legal professionals confirmed that the most commonly awarded schedule is 50/50.
Unlike in the first round of payments, past-due child support , aka “arrears” or “arrearage,” can ‘t be deducted from your second stimulus check (we’ ll explain in greater depth shortly).
Those who are late making child support payments are said to be “in arrears.” As noted above, this debt does not go away , even after the child turns 18 . So even though the child has reached the age a majority, the payments that should have been made before he or she turned 18 are still enforceable after that.
Typically, parents must pay child support until the child turns 18. There are some exceptions, however. Support may continue until the age of 19 if the child is still in high school and lives with a parent .
Colorado’s Statute of Limitations on Back Child Support Payments (Arrears) There is no limit in Colorado for child support enforcement unless the arrears are reduced to judgment by the court.
While the law in many states says that child support should end around a child’s 18 th birthday, Colorado is different. In fact, under Colorado law, child support obligations typically continue at least until the child turns 19-years-old, which is the general age of emancipation in Colorado .
There is no limit to how often your financial circumstances can change ; thus, you can adjust your child support order as often as necessary. Your request will only be accepted if your change in circumstances is substantial, resulting in the child support order decreasing or increasing by at least 10 percent.