You can complete your application online on the TLC’s website Select ‘ Apply for New License ‘ on the left side of the page. Select ‘Driver’ for application type. Select ” TLC Driver’s License (Medallion/For-Hire/Street Hail Livery Driver)” Save your TLC application number, you’ll need it later in the application process.
The price of the course is $175 and the exam fee is $75. In addition, in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), TLC drivers are required to pass a Wheelchair Accessible Vehicle training class. It is about 3 hours long and upon completion, you will receive a wallet-sized certificate of completion.
Your license will be mailed out and will take least 10 days period until you receive it. If you do not receive after this time period you can submit an Affirmation Form (PDF) to our Licensing Facility to receive a replacement TLC license .
NYC requires a special license Unlike in other cities, you need a special license from the TLC (Taxi and Limousine Commission) to drive with Uber in New York City. Our goal is to help you get licensed and get a vehicle as quickly and inexpensively as possible. The whole process should take 4-6 weeks.
Here’s how to get TLC plates Step 1: Get a base letter and commercial insurance. Visit an Uber Greenlight Hub with your vehicle documents and licenses to get a TLC base letter. Step 2: Return to a Greenlight Hub. Step 3: Pick up your TLC plates at the DMV. Step 4: Complete an inspection. Step 5: Activate your Uber account.
New York Uber drivers make an average of $25.91 per ride. They average two rides per hour. They work an average 30 hours per week. Gross income for NYC drivers is $80,839 per year (pre-tax).
Sign up and start earning—no TLC license required.
Uber and Lyft are no longer accepting new ride-hailing drivers in New York City . Legislation passed in 2018 empowered the TLC to set a minimum wage for ride-hailing drivers . The rule, which went into effect February 1, requires companies to pay drivers $17.22 an hour after expenses.
You must have a driver’s license that has been active for at least one year. You must have a valid driver’s license , proof of active auto insurance, and active vehicle registration. Not having any one of those items will disqualify you from driving for Uber Eats .
You will need to provide the following: (1) a TLC receipt, (2) your State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) driver’s license) (3) Drug Test Fee of $32.00 ; a major bank Credit or Debit card or a U.S. Postal or locally issued money order payable to: Labcorp is accepted.
The MCTD fee is $1.00 for every 6 months the permit or driver license will be in effect. Driver license renewal fees .
|Driver License Class||Fee||+ MCTD Fee|
|D or DJ||$64.50||$80.50|
|M or MJ||$72.50||$88.50|
To visit a TLC authorized drug test location you can either: Call LabCorp (800) 923-2624 to schedule an appointment. Results take approximately 3 days .
Transport for London didn’t name Uber , but said it spends £500,000 a year enforcing the license of the largest care hire operator, which undoubtedly is Uber . That operator pays a fee of just £565 annually. Car hire firm Addison Lee is likely to be the second largest, with 5,000 drivers (paywall).
On the help section of its website, Uber says drivers may “install and use video cameras to record riders for purposes of safety.” The company encourages drivers to check local regulations on using and disclosing their recording equipment. Uber said it doesn’t know how many drivers use dash cams in their vehicles.
Uber drivers who work for one of the ride-hailing company’s premium services generally find that the Uber Black “town car”-style trips are longer and more pleasant than the standard UberX rides, with a higher profit margin — think daytime business traveler airport pickups as opposed to pub-crawling millennials grabbing