Lawful Operation of a PWC Jumping a wake with a PWC within 100 feet of another vessel. Operating within 100 feet of a vessel that is towing a person on water skis, inner tube, wakeboard, or similar device, or operating within 100 feet of the tow rope or person being towed. Weaving your PWC through congested waterway traffic.
Boating Education. New York State requires certain boat operators to have a boating safety certificate. New York and most other states do not require a “license” to operate your personal recreational boat .
It is illegal to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise. A PWC must maintain a distance of at least 50 feet from another boat or PWC , a person, a stationary platform, or a shoreline. Furthermore, a PWC operator should not jump the wake of another vessel recklessly or unnecessarily close to that vessel.
Persons 14 years old up to 16 years of age may operate if they are accompanied by an adult 18 or older or have a certificate of competency from a NASBLA approved boating education course and some form of ID. Minor 12-15 years must be state certified to operate over a ten horsepower boat without an adult on board.
Even though a PWC or ” jet ski ” is classified as a Class A boat (16 ft or under) for navigation lighting purposes, most states do not allow PWC operations at night and so manufacturers do not normally install navigation lights. Check with your state. Please make sure all your PWC operators are aware of this restriction.
Required Safety Equipment for a PWC A life jacket for each operating passenger, and person being towed. A Coast Guard-approved B-1 fire extinguisher . An approved sound- signaling device such as a whistle or horn. An emergency engine cutoff lanyard attached to the operator.
You must take an approved course in boater education and safety and receive a boating safety certificate in order to operate a motor boat in New York . All motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025. For more information, go to the NYS PARKS website.
Proof of ownership (a manufacturer’s statement of origin, a title, transferable registration or a United States Coast Guard document) Completed Boat Registration /Title Application. Bill of sale and/or proof of sales tax clearance. Cash, check, money order or credit/debit card payment for fees and sales tax.
A boater in New York waters is allowed to operate a vessel while consuming alcohol but not while impaired or intoxicated. Boating while intoxicated mirrors driving while intoxicated, with a threshold of intoxication of 0.08 percent blood- alcohol content.
Any person operating or manipulating, or who is a passenger on a PWC, water skis , sailboard, parasail or similar devices shall wear a proper PFD. Children 12 years and younger are required to wear a USCG approved PFD while on an open deck or cockpit of a vessel that is underway or when the child is being towed.
You are required by law to have a lifejacket or PFD (Personal Flotation Device) on board for each person on a watercraft . This includes human-powered craft.
Letting off the throttle control may cause the loss of steering ability in a PWC . Further Explanation: Throttle mean: To throttle somebody intends to execute or harm them by crushing their throat or fixing something around it and keeping them from relaxing.
Licence holders under 16 years of age must not drive a PWC or vessel: while the vessel is towing anyone.
Persons under 12 years of age who are not directly supervised by a person 16 years of age or older may only operate a pleasure craft propelled by a motor of no more than 10 hp (7.5 kW).
California law requires a person to be 16 years of age or older and in possession of his/her California Boater Card to legally operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including personal watercraft (PWCs).