New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner (DEC) Basil Seggos announced today that the traditional harvest season for Largemouth and Smallmouth bass opens on June 20 and closes Nov. 30.
Sportfishing in New York Generates Estimated $2.14 Billion in Economic Activity Each Year. State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Commissioner Basil Seggos today reminded New Yorkers that trout and salmon fishing season opens on Wednesday, April 1.
See Parts 11, 12, 19, 25, 26 of this Title for additional special fishing regulations. 6 CRR- NY 10.1 NY -CRR.
|Open season||Third Saturday in June through November 30|
Ещё 23 столбца
Though fishing seasons vary across states, it is illegal to fish for bass , or any other species, outside their seasons . According to the DEC regulations, “intentionally fishing for a species during its closed season ” is against the law.
Statewide Angling Regulations
|Species||Open Season||Minimum Length|
|Black Bass Largemouth/Smallmouth||Third Saturday in June through Nov 30||12″|
|Dec 1 through Friday preceding the third Saturday in June||Catch and release only|
|Muskellunge||Last Saturday in May through Nov 30||40″|
|Northern Pike||First Saturday in May through March 15||18″|
License Requirements Note: You need a marine fishing registration if fishing for migratory fish of the sea and saltwater fish species. You do not need a fishing license if you are: Fishing on a licensed fishing preserve. Fishing during the free fishing weekend.
COVID-19: Fishing season not banned but anglers need to practice social distancing. ALBANY, N.Y. And while anglers are encouraged to get out and enjoy New York’s waterways, the DEC is reminding participants to practice safe social distancing to prevent the potential spread of COVID-19.
New York Fishing
|Statewide Angling Regulations|
|Species||Open Season||Daily Limit|
|Trout—Brook, Brown and Rainbow and hybrids of these species; and Splake||April 1 through Oct 15||5|
|Lake Trout||April 1 through Oct 15||3|
|Landlocked (LL)/ Atlantic Salmon||April 1 through Oct 15||3|
Yes. If the fish you caught by angling is in season, meets the minimum size limit, and is within your possession limit, you can use that fish for bait . Please note that perch, sunfish and most other angler caught fish cannot be collected by methods other than angling and cannot be sold as bait fish.
An angler may operate no more than three lines with or without a rod. each line is limited to not more than five lures or baits or a combination of both. in addition, each line shall not exceed 15 hook points in any combination of single, double or treble hooks .
Q: If I get a ticket for fishing without a license, how much will it cost? A: Most fishing “violations” have a fine ranging from $0–$250 and/or 15 days in jail .
First, be sure local fishing regulations allow you to keep some of your catch . Some waters are catch -and-release only, or there may be restrictions on the size of fish you can keep . If you intend to keep only few fish, a small lined cooler bag may be ample to hold your catch .
When it comes to catching bass , every season has its opportunities and challenges. Fishing can come alive in the dead of winter on a mild afternoon, but spring and fall usually present the best action.