Licensing steps: Determine the type(s) of structures you will work on. Complete pre- license training and take the test. File your corporation, LLC, and/or assumed business name. Submit a CCB surety bond in the required amount(s). Provide proof of general liability insurance in the required amount.
To obtain a CCB license , you must: Be at least 18 years old. Complete at least 16 hours of training on law and business practices from an approved education provider and pass the Oregon exam .
In the state of Oregon , anyone performing construction work for compensation is required to have a contractor license . The exceptions to this rule are gutter cleaning, power and pressure washing, and handyman work on projects with a contract value of $1,000 or less.
The threshold for performing certain work without a contractor license increased from $500 to $1,000.
The Oregon Construction Contractors Board requires all applicants to pay an Oregon Contractor License registration fee of $250 . This Oregon Contractors License fee covers you for two years. This fee is usually $325 , but from July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2019, the fee will only be $250 .
Can someone become a contractor if they have a prison record? A prison record does not necessarily mean you cannot get a license . However, there are certain felony convictions that may prevent you from getting a license .
Passing your general contractor license test on your first try can actually be harder than you think, but it can be easy with the right information. In California , thousands of people apply for the General Contractor License each year.
Surety Bond Cost By Credit Score
|Applicant’s Credit Score|
|Surety Bond Amount||700||549 and under|
|$5,000 Surety Bond||$100||$375-$500|
|$10,000 Surety Bond||$100||$750-$1,000|
|$15,000 Surety Bond||$112.5-$225||$1,125-$1,500|
The general contractor may hire an electrician, a plumber , a cabinet maker-installer, a tile layer and a granite installer.
Startup Toolkit Step 1: Choose your name and structure. Before you can register your business you’ll need to choose a business name. Step 2: Register your business . Step 3: Get your tax numbers. Step 4: Insurance Requirements. Step 5: Permits & Licensing. Step 6: Employer Obligations.
The bond costs between $69 and $465 depending on the personal credit, license history, and classification of the contractor. *Prices shown are for the one year term and are based on several factors including personal credit, license history, years in business, and active licensing and bonding.
What Plumbing Work Can Be Done Without a License ? In Oregon , state law prohibits plumbers from performing any type of plumbing job without a license .
No. Landscape maintenance is not regulated by the State of Oregon . However, you should check with your city or county for possible local license or permit requirements.
You’ll need to complete a 16-hour cold climate course and pass an exam. General Contractor without Residential Contractor Endorsement – Can undertake commercial work or residential remodel work less than 25% of the value of the structure.
California . There is no specific handyman license in California . To be eligible for the license, you’ll need to show four years of work experience, have a certificate of insurance, and a contractor’s bond of $15,000. You’ll need to pass the trade, and business and law exam.