Oregon lemon law used car

Oregon lemon law used car

Can you return a used car in Oregon?

Does Oregon have a 3 day return law for car purchases? If the problem remains after 3 attempts (or 30 days in the repair shop, or 2 attempts to fix a serious safety defect) you have the right to return the car and get your money back.

Can a used car qualify for lemon law?

Yes. A used car can and often does qualify under the lemon laws as long as it was sold with a written warranty. Often times, used vehicles are sold while still under the manufacturer’s warranty and/or a warranty from the dealer. If this is the case, then your used car may qualify under the lemon laws .

What do I do if I bought a used lemon car?

What should I do if I think I bought a lemon car ? Note the issue you ‘re experiencing and check your warranty documents to see if they ‘re covered. Look up the laws in your state. Report your problems to the dealership and manufacturer. Document everything, including repairs done by the dealer and manufacturer.

Is there a buyers remorse law in Oregon?

If it’s a new car you bought, Oregon’s lemon law allows you to bring the car back to the dealer for repairs. If the problem remains after 3 attempts (or 30 days in the repair shop, or 2 attempts to fix a serious safety defect) you have the right to return the car and get your money back.

Is there a law that protects used car buyers?

A new California law requires buy-here, pay-here dealerships to issue 30-day/1,000-mile warranties for the used vehicles they lease or sell . The existence of that warranty also gives buy-here, pay-here customers additional protection under the federal lemon law , the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act .

You might be interested:  Oregon 2018 tax forms

What to do if a dealer sells you a bad used car?

Use the “Lemon Law” Before you can use it, you must give the manufacturer or dealer a “reasonable number of attempts” to fix the problem. If the dealer cannot fix the problem, the dealer must take back the vehicle and refund your money, including fees and taxes, or replace the vehicle with a comparable set of wheels.

Can you sue a dealership for selling you a bad car?

You can sue a used car dealership for selling you a bad car if they did not properly disclose any known issues with the vehicle. However, before having an auto fraud attorney sue the used car dealership , you will have to prove the following: The dealer misrepresented or omitted material facts.

What types of problems are covered by the lemon law?

The new car lemon law covers not only the engine, drive train and brakes but any other problem or defect which substantially impairs the value of the car to the buyer. In fact, almost any part of the car which is covered by an express warranty is covered under the new car lemon law .

What happens if you buy a used car and it breaks down?

If you bought the car ‘as is’ you have no recourse with the dealer if your state does not require the dealer to take action. Look at your state laws for used car sales, and look over your contract. When they come to ask you how they can get you to leave tell them to fix the car . Fix the car yourself.

You might be interested:  The state of oregon

Can you take someone to court for selling you a bad car?

Based on used car law, if your agreement has gone through and you fulfilled the terms of what you told the buyer, he generally may not sue you or get the money back. In most cases, a used car purchase sold between private individuals is an “as is” transaction with no warranty or guarantee implied by used car law.

Can I return a used car I just financed?

Once you sign the contract on your car loan, it’s yours – return policies on vehicle sales are extremely rare. In fact, they’re practically nonexistent. If buyer’s remorse has you racing back to the dealership less than 24 hours after striking a financing deal, you’ll find very little can be done to help this.

Can you cancel a used car purchase after signing?

Once you have signed the financing contract, you have 2 days to cancel it, providing that you have not taken possession of the vehicle . Nor can the merchant send them any information concerning the amounts that can no longer be collected because you have cancelled the contract.

Can I return a used car I bought from a dealer?

In most situations, the dealer has no legal obligation to take the car back if you signed the sales contract. But, you may be able to get whatever reasons for your car buyer’s remorse resolved and possibly even return the car .

Rick Randall

leave a comment

Create Account



Log In Your Account