Annual Salary Trooper pay range is from $43,680 to $66,560, depending upon experience. UHP will match previous sworn law enforcement experience, one year for each year service, excluding corrections and SFO experience.
approximately 100 hours
All applicants interested in becoming a State Trooper are required to take a written exam called the P.O.S.T. Entrance Exam. Join UHP – Becoming a Trooper High school diploma or GED. Age 21 and over. US Citizen. A background demonstrating good moral character.
This can be a physically challenging career , and it’s often stressful and dangerous . Not every civilian is overjoyed when a trooper turns up at a scene. Expect to be yelled at, spit on, hit, and even worse. Potential health concerns and other inherent dangers are associated with the job as well.
Utah’s Safest Cities
|3||Santa Clara / Ivins||9|
Detailed List Of Highest Paying Jobs In Utah
|Rank||Job Title||Average Salary|
|1||Surgeons , Except Ophthalmologists||$270,260|
|2||General Internal Medicine Physicians||$230,170|
|3||Pediatricians , General||$228,440|
|4||Obstetricians And Gynecologists||$214,070|
The states and districts that pay Patrol Officers the highest mean salary are California ($105,220), Alaska ($87,870), New Jersey ($86,840), Washington ($80,200), and Hawaii ($78,720).
Way to go! You have passed all of the steps necessary to become a police officer in Salt Lake City. Now, you must complete training at the Salt Lake City Police Academy . You will train for 20 weeks, 40 hours per week, for a total of 832 hours of training .
This is a list of law enforcement agencies in the state of Utah. According to the US Bureau of Justice Statistics’ 2008 Census of State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies, the state had 136 law enforcement agencies employing 4,782 sworn police officers, about 175 for each 100,000 residents.
A written examination and a physical fitness examination are required to waive any portion of the training program. To request a waiver exam for peace officer certification in the state of Utah . Contact POST at (801) 256-2300 for an application packet, study material, and a date and time to take the exam.
about 13 to 19 weeks
Subjects Combination – Students from any stream/ subject in Class 12/ UG/ PG can become police officers after clearing the recruitment exam and physical tests. Bachelor’s Degree with a lower age limit of 21 years. Class 12 and lower age limit is 18, while, upper age limit is 25.
Current drug use or past drug abuse. Dishonorable discharge from military service. Bad credit history. History of domestic violence.
“The hat has no bearing on the validity of the ticket. It’s our department’s policy that a trooper must be wearing a hat when out of the building or making an arrest,” Geller said. “But there’s nothing in state code that he must be wearing his hat when issuing a citation.”
State trooper salaries vary depending on the state in which they work. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the average annual salary nationally is $65,400 for police and sheriff’s patrol officers.